Latest Posts

Stay in Touch With Us

[vc_empty_space height=”9px”]

For Advert Placement;

Email

info@plat4om.com

Follow us on social Media

  /  Tech   /  Daily-Briefs   /  You Will Start Paying For Google Photos Storage In 2021
You Will Start Paying For Google Photos Storage In 2021

You Will Start Paying For Google Photos Storage In 2021

Come 1st June 2021, you will start paying to use more than 15GB of storage on Google Photos. Google is also announcing new policy changes that affect its Workspace users.

 

According to The Verge’s report, you can upload photos to Google’s app above 15GB from now until the set date for free. This limit does not apply to people using Pixel smartphones as they will still be using the service for free.

 

However, Pixel users will have the original quality of their photos reduced if it is high. Google already as a limit for Android phone users who want to upload high quality images and keep the original size intact. Otherwise, all photos sent from non-pixel phones to Google Photos have been compressed.

 

It is not as bad as it looks. Apple users have been managing with the 5GB free storage limit cap on iCloud since forever. Also, Google says that 80 per cent of the Photos app users will not be able to reach the 15GB capacity for ‘at least three years’.

Also read:
PlayStation Store Listing Reveals Deathloop Release Date
– Alexa Now With Improved AI That Deduces Your Intentions From The Questions You Ask
– PES Announces Surpassing 350 Million Mobile Downloads For eFootball PES

Likely, if you are not a professional photographer, you may not even have to worry about this Google Photos 15GB limit. But if you are a professional photographer or you take as much high quality photos as one, you may consider paying for Google Photos or getting a Google One account.

 

This is because, it is not just Google Photos that is getting a free storage limit. Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms and Jamboard are all getting the 15GB limit. Additionally, Google is warning users who have been inactive. It wrote in its blog post:

 

“If you’re inactive in one or more of these services for two years (24 months), Google may delete the content in the product(s) in which you’re inactive. […] Similarly, if you’re over your storage limit for two years, Google may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos.

 

“We will notify you multiple times before we attempt to remove any content so you have ample opportunities to take action. The simplest way to keep your account active is to periodically visit Gmail, Drive or Photos on the web or mobile, while signed in and connected to the internet.”

 

For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle, and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at info@plat4om.com and join our channel on Telegram at Plat4om. Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel HERE.

About The Author

A reader of books and stringer of words. Passionate about Science and Tech. When not writing or reading he is surfing the web and Tweeting.

Post a Comment