You are currently viewing Wizkid And Tems Record Wins At The 2022 NAACP Awards

Wizkid And Tems Record Wins At The 2022 NAACP Awards

Nigerian star singers Wizkid and Tems have bagged awards at the 2022 edition of NAACP Image Awards for their collaboration in ‘Essence’ a track off ‘Made in Lagos’ album.

Wizkid Tems Record Wins At The 2022 NAACP Awards
Wizkid and Tems’ “Essence” recently became platinum-certified in the US

‘Essence’, won in the outstanding music video category at the awards.

The remix featuring global pop-star Justin Bieber also won the award for best outstanding international song.

Wizkid also picked up awards in the 2020 and 2021 categories.

The NAACP Image Award, now in its 53rd edition was created to celebrate the best in film, television, music, and literature.

2022’s event started on Monday and ran through the week ending on Saturday.

See the full list of winners below.

Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental

“Sounds from the Ancestors” – Kenny Garrett

Outstanding Jazz Album – Vocal

“Generations”- The Baylor Project

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song

“Help Me”- Tamala Mann feat. The Fellas

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album

“Overcomer”- Tamela Mann

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)

Silk Sonic- “Leave the Door Open”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)

Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe- “Fye Fye”

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album

“The Harder They Fall (The Motion Picture Soundtrack)” – JAY-Z & Jeymes Samuel

Outstanding International Song

“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems & Justin Bieber

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems

Outstanding New Artist

Saweetie – “Best Friend” Ft. Doja Cat

Outstanding Male Artist

Anthony Hamilton – “Love Is The New Black”

Outstanding Female Artist

Jazmine Sullivan- “Heaux Tales”

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song

“Pick Up Your Feelings”- Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Hip-Hop/Rap Song

“Fye Fye” – Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe

Outstanding Album

“Heaux Tales”- Jazmine Sullivan

Special Award: NAACP Humanitarian of the Year

Darnella Frazier

Also read:
Wizkid Bags NAACP Award For The Second Time
Tems, Bimbo Ademoye, Tunde Onakoya Win Big Future Awards 2022
“Omo Ghetto ( The Saga)” Bags Dubai Film Award

Entertainer of the year

Jennifer Hudson – Winner

Lil Nas X

Megan Thee Stallion
Regina King
Tiffany Haddish

Outstanding motion picture

“The Harder They Fall” – Winner

“Judas and the Black Messiah”
“King Richard”
“The United States vs. Billie Holiday”

Outstanding actor in a motion picture

Will Smith, “King Richard” – Winner

Denzel Washington, “The Tragedy of Macbeth”
Jonathan Majors, “The Harder They Fall”
LaKeith Stanfield, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
Mahershala Ali, “Swan Song”

Outstanding actress in a motion picture

Jennifer Hudson, “Respect” – Winner

Andra Day, “The United States vs. Billie Holiday”
Halle Berry, “Bruised”
Tessa Thompson, “Passing”
Zendaya, “Malcolm & Marie”

Outstanding supporting actor in a motion picture

Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah” – Winner

Algee Smith, “Judas and the Black Messiah”
Delroy Lindo, “The Harder They Fall”
Idris Elba, “The Harder They Fall”
LaKeith Stanfield, “The Harder They Fall”

Outstanding supporting actress in a motion picture

Regina King, “The Harder They Fall” – Winner

Aunjanue Ellis, “King Richard”
Audra McDonald, “Respect”
Danielle Deadwyler, “The Harder They Fall”
Dominique Fishback, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

Outstanding animated motion picture

“Encanto” – Winner
“Raya and the Last Dragon”
“Sing 2”

Outstanding comedy series

“Insecure” – Winner

“Run the World”
“The Upshaws”

Outstanding actor in a comedy series

Anthony Anderson, “black-ish”

Cedric the Entertainer, “The Neighborhood”
Don Cheadle, “Black Monday”
Elisha “EJ” Williams, “The Wonder Years”
Jay Ellis, “Insecure”

Outstanding actress in a comedy series

Issa Rae, “Insecure” – Winner

Loretta Devine, “Family Reunion”
Regina Hall, “Black Monday”
Tracee Ellis Ross, “black-ish”
Yvonne Orji, “Insecure”

Outstanding drama series

“Queen Sugar” – Winner

“All American”
“Godfather of Harlem”

Outstanding actor in a drama series

Sterling K. Brown, “This Is Us” – Winner

Billy Porter, “Pose”
Damson Idris, “Snowfall”
Forest Whitaker, “Godfather of Harlem”
Kofi Siriboe, “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding actress in a drama series

Angela Bassett, “9-1-1” – Winner

Dawn-Lyen Gardner, “Queen Sugar”
Octavia Spencer, “Truth Be Told”
Queen Latifah, “The Equalizer”
Rutina Wesley, “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

“Colin in Black & White” – Winner

“Genius: Aretha”
“Love Life”
“Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”
“The Underground Railroad”

Outstanding actor in a television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

Kevin Hart, “True Story” – Winner

Anthony Mackie, “Solos”
Jaden Michael, “Colin in Black & White”
Wesley Snipes, “True Story”
William Jackson Harper, “Love Life”

Outstanding actress in a television movie, limited-series or dramatic special

Taraji P. Henson, “Annie Live!” – Winner

Betty Gabriel, “Clickbait”
Cynthia Erivo, “Genius: Aretha”
Danielle Brooks, “Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia”
Jodie Turner-Smith, “Anne Boleyn”

Outstanding new artist

Saweetie – Winner

Cynthia Erivo
Jimmie Allen
Zoe Wees

Outstanding male artist

Anthony Hamilton – Winner

J. Cole
Lil Nas X

Outstanding female artist

Jazmine Sullivan – Winner

Ari Lennox

Outstanding album

“Heaux Tales,” Jazmine Sullivan – Winner

“An Evening With Silk Sonic,” Silk Sonic
“Back of My Mind,” H.E.R.
“Certified Lover Boy,” Drake
“When It’s All Said and Done… Take Time,” Giveon


For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle, and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at and join our channel on Telegram at Plat4om. Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL.

Sarah Oyedo

A reader, thinker, a dreamer and a believer. Fruity cocktails and asun are the way to my heart.