You are currently viewing WhatsApp rolling out three new privacy features, including blocking message screenshot
WhatsApp rolling out three new privacy features, including blocking message screenshot

WhatsApp rolling out three new privacy features, including blocking message screenshot

WhatsApp is working on three privacy features: blocking message screenshots, leaving groups unnoticed, and choosing who can see your ‘online’ status.

In a post announcing the new features, Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said:

“New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages. We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.”

Following this Monday post, the WhatsApp new features continued to gather attention and coverage. Their popularity is understandable as they afford users of the chat platform newer control over their online activities.

Also read:
– 
[Watch Video] Xiaomi CEO interacts with CyberOne, a full-sized humanoid robot, on stage
– Xiaomi MIX Fold 2 brings slimmer design than Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 4
– Phone makers, Xiaomi, aim to become electric vehicle industry leader by 2024.

Take the option to leave a group chat unannounced. It makes it easier to exit groups without the risk of starting a mass exodus or facing a barrage of private inquiries from other members. However, while other members may remain in the dark, the group’s admin will be notified that you left the group.

Also, the ability to choose who can see that you are online is an upgrade of the former blanket ‘stealth’ mode. Before now, if you didn’t want someone to know you were online, you had to turn it off for every other person. Thus, making you miss out on some important discussions. Instead, you will be able to choose to allow everyone, your contacts, your contacts with some exceptions and nobody, to see when you are online.

Lastly, the ‘view once’ photos and videos update brings more privacy to conversations. It prevents people from using your media as proof against you or to troll you online. While this has loads of advantages, there are certain disadvantages as well. A bad actor could get away with lots of things using this feature. So, you could agree with the other person to stop using the feature if you have built trust.

While WhatsApp has not said anything about when the view once features would be available, the other two would roll out by the end of August 2022.

For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle, and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at info@plat4om.com and join our channel on Telegram at Plat4om. Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL.

Onwuasoanya Obinna

A reader of books and stringer of words. Passionate about Science and Tech. When not writing or reading he is surfing the web and Tweeting.