You are currently viewing The Five Love Languages And What They Mean

The Five Love Languages And What They Mean

The book “The Five Love language” written by Dr Gary Chapman in 1995, highlighted five Love languages and the different ways people express love.


The five love languages portray how individuals feel and acknowledged love. As a result, understanding and implementing a partner’s love language will eliminate the need for guesswork in a relationship.


Per Dr Chapman, there are five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. Here are the five love languages and what they mean.

1: Words of Affirmation

This love language communicates love with words that build up one another. Verbal commendations don’t need to be complicated; the briefest and least utterance of words can be very effective.


Words like “I love you”, “I missed your voice”, “That dress looks perfect on you” and many more go a long way for some individuals.

Also Read:
-Ten Fun Ways To Say “I Love You” Without Saying The Word
Labor Of Love: 15 Men Compete To Impregnate 41yr Old Woman In New Reality TV Show
Eight Signs That You Are Dating Your Soulmate

2: Acts of Service

Actions speak louder than words they say. This love language is expressed by doing what a partner needs or wants. Preparing dinner, doing the clothing, and solving a problem are generally demonstrations of administration. They require some idea, time, and exertion.


As a declaration of love, this love language is done with positivity and happiness of the other partner in mind. However, activities with a negative tone are something different altogether.

3: Receiving Gifts

This isn’t necessarily materialistic. A simple and thoughtful gift makes the other partner feel loved and remembered.


Note that, this love language is different from the Acts of Service. The former deals with performance action to help the other partner.

4: Quality Time

This love language is about full focus. No TVs, no cell phones, or some other interruptions. Making the other partner a focal point of attention.


Creating time from busy schedules without distractions builds comfort in the relationship.

5: Physical Touch

Individuals with this love language feel more connected and happier with the physical touch of their partners. Kissing, hugging, holding hands brings assurance to such individuals. Individuals with this language, care not for gifts but physical presence.


For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle, and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at and join our channel on Telegram at Plat4om. Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel HERE.

Leave a Reply