Latest Posts

Stay in Touch With Us

For Advert Placement;

Email

info@plat4om.com

Follow us on social Media

  /  Tech   /  Gadgets   /  Telegram 101: The Difference Between Last Seen Recently And Last Seen “XX:YY”
Telegram 101: The Difference Between Last Seen Recently And Last Seen “XX:YY”

Telegram 101: The Difference Between Last Seen Recently And Last Seen “XX:YY”

In response to a user’s inquiry into the difference between “last seen” at a particular time and “last seen recently”, Telegram explains why the feature is in place.

 

A Twitter user had asked the social media company why there were two different ways of showing the last time a person had used the app. And in response, the company had Tweeted:

 

 

This is part of Telegram’s unique Privacy and Security features and users can adjust it as they wish. On its blog its further explains that users who choose to hide their Last Seen timestamps from people would not see those people’s Last Seen timestamps as well.

Also read:
– Telegram Passes 500 Million Downloads On Google Play Store
– New Internet Speed Record Set By Australian Researchers Makes 5G Look Like 2G
– Why Facebook’s Work From Home Policy Could Involve A Pay Cut

However, the feature is still very useful as it helps one avoid stalkers. Yet, it still allows these people to know if they can reach certain users or not. Telegram provides four approximate value guides for users to understand how the Last Seen roundups work:

 

  • Last seen recently: covers anything between 1 second and 2-3 days
  • Last seen within a week: between 2-3 and seven days
  • Last seen within a month: between 6-7 days and a month
  • Last seen a long time ago: more than a month (this is also always shown to blocked users)

 

In addition to this, Telegram users are to understand that the settings are not foolproof. While people can only see that you are online on the platform if you share your last seen status with them, there are some exceptions.

 

The blog post says that if you do any of the following things, then even these restricted people can see that you are online for at least 30 seconds:

 

— Send them a message in a one-on-one chat or in a group where you both are members.

— Read a message they sent you in a one-on-one chat.

— Broadcast a “typing…” status to their chat with you or to a group where you both are members.

 

Telegram advises users to just block people if they do not want them to know when they are online.

 

For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at info@plat4om.com. Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel HERE.

Share:
About The Author

A reader of books and stringer of words. Passionate about Science and Tech. When not writing or reading he is surfing the web and Tweeting.

Post a Comment