You are currently viewing See The Five New Languages That Google Is Adding To Its Translate Service

See The Five New Languages That Google Is Adding To Its Translate Service

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Google has announced that it is adding support for five new languages to its translation service. The languages are; Kinyarwanda, Odia, Tatar, Turkmen and Uyghur.


“Languages without a lot of web content have traditionally been challenging to translate, but through advancements in our machine learning technology, coupled with active involvement of the Google Translate Community, we have added support for five languages: Kinyarwanda, Odia (Oriya), Tatar, Turkmen and Uyghur,” Isaac Caswell, a Google Translate Software Engineer, said in a statement on Wednesday.


“These languages, spoken by more than 75 million people worldwide, are the first languages we have added to Google Translate in four years, and expand the capabilities of Google Translate to 108 languages,” Caswell added.


Kinyarwanda is a Bantu language with about 12 million speakers who live mainly in Rwanda. It is the national language, along with French and English. It also has speakers in the Democratic Republic of Congo and Uganda.


Odia is an Indo-Aryan language of the Indian state of Odisha. It is the official language in Odisha and native speakers make up 82% of the population. It is also spoken in parts of West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, and Andhra Pradesh.

Also Read:
– Google Applies For License To Resume Working With Huawei
– Samsung Allegedly Testing Android 11 Already As Google Sets Release Date For Late 2020
– Microsoft Revises Its Revenue Projections Due To Coronavirus

Tatar is a language spoken by a Turkic ethnic group living mainly in Tatarstan and the wider Volga-Ural region. The vast majority of Tatars today reside in post-Soviet countries, primarily in Russia, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. The vast majority of Tatars are Muslims.


Turkmens is also the language of a Turkic ethnic group native to Central Asia, especially the Turkmen nation-state of Turkmenistan. Big communities have traditionally lived in neighboring Iran, Afghanistan. However, sizeable groups are communities are in Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and North Caucasus.


Uyghur or Uighur language is another Turkic language with 10 to 15 million speakers. It is the language of the Uyghur people in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region of Western China.


Google says that these new languages support both text and website translations. However, Kinyarwanda, Tatar and Uyghur specifically supports virtual keyboard input.


For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel HERE.

Leave a Reply