You are currently viewing Nigeria Oscars Committee Again Votes ‘No Submission’ For Nollywood Films

Nigeria Oscars Committee Again Votes ‘No Submission’ For Nollywood Films

The Nigeria Oscars selection committee has reiterated its position that no film should be submitted for the Academy International Feature Film category.

Nigeria Oscars Comittee Again Votes 'No Submission' For Nollywood Films

The committee voted 9-6 in favor of “preserving” the original votes from September 3, 2022,

And this is according to a leaked video from Thursday, October 20, 2022.

Furthermore Mahmood Ali-Balogun, the committee’s vice chairperson, Mildred Okwo, Shaibu Husseini, Ego Boyo,

Moses Babatope, and Kenneth Gyang were among the committee’s 15 members who voted against it.

Also Read
-Oscars Directs Nigerian Comittee To Revoke Decision On No Submission
-Kunle Afolayan Reacts To Oscars No Submission; Revoke, Says God’s Hands Is Working!
-Sandra Iheuwa Drags Estranged Husband To Court Over Threat To Life

Meanwhile, the voting process in September that resulted in the majority of the Nigeria Oscars committee members voting against any of the three competing films

They are Kap Films’ “Anikulapo,” EbonyLife Films’ “Elesin Oba,”

and Euphoria 360’s “King of Thieves”—has caused a serious internal problem.

NOSC revote for no Nigerian film to be submitted to Oscars | Pulse Nigeria
NOSC chairperson, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi

Recall also that the NOSC chairperson, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi, announced the committee’s “null” vote in a formal statement,

a decision that some committee members contend was “predetermined” and did not have the support of all 15 members.

However, recently, the Academy intervened in the dilemma by extending the submission deadline

so that the committee members may meet again and possibly conduct a second vote.

A series of stunning charges of bribery and ferocious lobbying for “Elesin Oba” were identified in the long-deleted “leaked” film

as the main causes of the current conflict.

At least three of the committee’s members have announced their resignation since the incident. Mildred Okwo, Shaibu Husseini, and Kenneth Gyang are among the group’s members who resigned

It is however clear that the Nigeria Oscars committee will continue to stick to their decision

and it is indeed sad that even with the great films we have, none will get the chance to compete at the Oscars


For your daily dose of tech, lifestyle, and trending content, make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at and join our channel on Telegram at Plat4om. Finally, don’t forget to subscribe to OUR YOUTUBE CHANNEL.