You are currently viewing Khalid Releases Sophomore “Free Spirit” Album

Khalid Releases Sophomore “Free Spirit” Album

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Two years after his multi-platinum selling debut American Teen, Khalid is back with his sophomore album, Free Spirit. The highly-anticipated 17-track set album includes the HitBoy-produced Self, Don’t Pretend, My Bad and the Disclosure-produced lead single, Talk.


It also includes a collaboration with the John Mayer-assisted track (Outta My Head). Two cuts from his 2018 EP Suncity, Better and Saturday Nights, are also included, the latter as a bonus track. Producing the album was a collaboration of Hit-Boy, Murda Beatz, Stargate and D’Mile, among others.




“I wrote American Teen at 17 years old,” Khalid told Zane Lowe on Beats 1. “Now I get to release this at 20-21, so it’s a completely different mind frame.” The LP is a follow-up of both the 2017 Grammy-nominated American Teen and his October 2018 Suncity EP.


“This album is the culmination of all of the growth and experiences I have gathered over the past two remarkable years,” said Khalid in a press release. The album arrives alongside a film of the same name, directed by Emil Nava. “I have been in the studio pouring my soul and spirit to create a body of work that I hope speaks to each and every one of you,” Khalid said.


The 21-year-old El Paso singer will perform at Coachella next weekend before launching an arena tour in support of the album. The Khalid Free Spirit World Tour kicks off in Phoenix on June 20 and travels across the U.S. and Canada, wrapping in Miami on 17th Aug 2019.


Check out Khalid’s Free Spirit teaser, cover art and tracklist below.


Track List

1. Intro
2. Bad Luck
3. My Bad
4. Better
5. Talk
6. Right Back
7. Don’t Pretend f. SAFE
8. Paradise
9. Hundred
10. Outta My Head f. John Mayer
11. Free Spirit
12. Twenty One
13. Bluffin’
14. Self
15. Alive
16. Heaven
17. Saturday Nights

Leave a Reply