You are currently viewing BAFTA 2020: “Joker” Leads With 11 Nominations

BAFTA 2020: “Joker” Leads With 11 Nominations

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Uncategorized
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Nominations were unveiled for this year’s BAFTAs on Tuesday, with the dark comic book drama “Joker,” starring Golden Globes winner Joaquin Phoenix, leading the pack.


“Joker”, the original story of the Batman series villain secured 11 nominations for BAFTA, Britain’s showpiece film awards, including Best Film.


It is up against Martin Scorsese’s gangster epic “The Irishman” and Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, which both received 10 nominations each.


Sam Mendes’ “1917,” a tale about two British soldiers, earned the coveted best drama Golden Globe. At this year’s BAFTAs, it received nine nominations, including in the best film category.


Last year, Netflix black-and-white production “Roma” scooped up the golden mask statuette. Although it went on to win three Oscars, it fell short in the best film category.


joaquin phoenix in "Joker"
Joaquin Phoenix in “Joker”



Also read:
Golden Globes 2020: Four Major Trends From The Red Carpet
Bafta Games Awards 2019: UK’s Biggest Gaming Night
Prince Harry Calls For Ban Of “Fortnite” Game


This year’s BAFTAs include all the Oscar favourites. This includes “Once Upon A Time” star Leonardo DiCaprio and Renee Zellweger, who portrays US singer and actress Judy Garland in the romance drama “Judy”.


The full list of leading actor nominations includes DiCaprio, Adam Driver, Taron Egerton, Phoenix and Jonathan Pryce.


Jessie Buckley (“Wild Rose”), Scarlett Johansson (“Marriage Story”), Saoirse Ronan (“Little Women”), Charlize Theron (“Bombshell”) and Zellweger are up for leading actress.


The best director nominees are Sam Mendes for “1917”, Scorsese, Todd Phillips for “Joker”, Tarantino and South Korea’s Bong Joon-Ho for “Parasite”.


There were six nominees for Outstanding British Film. They include “1917”, “Bait”, “For Sama”, “Rocketman”, “Sorry We Missed You”, and “The Two Popes”.


The award ceremony will hold on 2nd February 2020.


Make sure to follow Plat4om on Twitter @Plat4omLive, on Instagram @Plat4om, on LinkedIn at Plat4om, and on Facebook at Plat4om. You can also email us at Also, don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel HERE.

Leave a Reply