You are currently viewing Again! WhatsApp Co-Founder Urges Users To Delete Facebook Accounts

Again! WhatsApp Co-Founder Urges Users To Delete Facebook Accounts

A co-founder of WhatsApp, Brian Acton, has once more asked Facebook users to delete their accounts. He appeared as a speaker at a class at Stanford University last week where he spoke about the decision to sell the company to Facebook. Acton then urged students to delete their Facebook accounts.

Acton spoke during an undergraduate course at the university called Computer Science 181. He spoke alongside another former Facebook employee, Ellora Israni, who is now the founder of She++. The co-founder explained why he sold WhatsApp to Facebook in the first place. He also criticised the drive to prioritise monetisation over user privacy.

During the talk, he noted that major technology and social media companies like Apple and Google have struggled to moderate their content. He said the companies were not equipped to make decisions regarding controlling content on their platforms. He then went on to say,

“We give them the power. That’s the bad part. [We] buy their products. We sign up for these websites. Delete Facebook, right?”

Bye Facebook

Acton has been a vocal critic of Facebook since leaving the company in 2017. He left over issues with Facebook’s desire to monetise its services. He had also previously told Facebook users to delete their accounts following the Cambridge Analytica scandal last year.

In case you want to heed his advice and delete your Facebook account, here is how to leave without a trace.

First, you probably want to save all your information from on there. The app records everything from photos to chat history to active session and even ads you may have clicked on. To download this archive, go to Settings. At the bottom of the General Account Settings, click “Download a copy of your Facebook data,” and then click “Start My Archive.”

The delete option cannot be found in the settings menu. So, to delete permanently, click this link. Once you click “Delete My Account,” your account will be marked and inaccessible to other users. It takes 90 days before the account is completely deleted. During this time, do not sign on because if you do, you will have to start the process all over again.

Just so you know, if you’re quitting Facebook over security and privacy concerns, remember they also own Instagram and WhatsApp, so you may have to delete your accounts there as well.

Leave a Reply